End of day barn report

The ground was lightly frozen when I headed to the barn at 6 am but it warmed up to the forties again during the day.   Mostly it was gray but sometimes the sun came out.  Some drizzles, hail at one point.  Weird weather!

After only getting a gallon this morning, I bit the bullet, put the babies out and trained them to the electric fence.  They stayed inside the fence all day but boy did they yelp.  At the end of the day, the babies all went into one pen and the moms into another.  It will be interesting to see how much milk I get in the morning.

Egg count still down and no sign of the little tan eggs the pullets had been laying.  I think they may be laying outside the chicken house under the log pile.  I am going to keep all the chickens locked in tomorrow, just let the ducks out and the roosters and see if the egg count goes up.

2 Responses to “End of day barn report”

  1. Robin Says:

    I picked up one egg from 14 hens yesterday. I’m sure they’re not laying outside since I have to practically toss them out the door to get a drink. Heaven forbid they touch snow you know.

    I’m envious of your bare ground and warm temps. 75″ of snow so far and a storm coming tomorrow night. I feel a huge case of cabin fever starting.

  2. edgwickfarm Says:

    My mother said she was suffering from cabin fever as well. I suggested she invite you over for coffee or something. I hope you were able to get together.

Leave a Reply

