Saturday morning barn report

Although seven to ten inches were predicted, I woke up to two inches of sticky snow.  I took Sam out off leash thinking the snow would keep him close.  Mistake!  He flushed five or six deer and went on a fifteen minute romp after them.  Luckliy he came back to the house, ears down, knowing he was in trouble.

Two and three quarters gallons of milk that I immediately started as feta.  The refrigerator has almost four gallons for drinking.

No chicken eggs this morning.  Four duck eggs that I just slipped under a fourth broody hen.

I delivered all ten of the baby goats to their new home yesterday.  The doelings will be used for milk and breeding meat offspring.  The bucklings will be eaten.  All of the does were out of sorts looking for the babies.

The weather is starting to shift so I need to tap my sugar maples if I am going to make any syrup this year.  I have all the equipment out and washed.  Next step is drilling the trees.  Maybe this afternoon, definitely tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

