Remaining ducklings




Remaining ducklings

Originally uploaded by edgwickfarm

I think I brought about 120 ducks eggs to six different elementary classes in Cornwall. The hatch rate has ranged from 25% to 50 % so far. The classes have been delighted with the experience and have found ducklings much more personable than chicks. I need to educate the teachers more about the food (medicated chick food is a no-no) and help them find where to get it. One teacher has curriculum she developed for chicks that I hope to adapt to ducklings and share next year. I have had ten ducklings come back to me and I sold seven to a farmer in Pennsylvania who drove two hours to pick them up. These three in the picture are what are left until more come from a classroom next week. The last of the eggs should hatch at the beginning of next week. All in all it has been an enriching experience and advanced the work of my farm.

Leave a Reply

