Blueberry picking in Black Rock Forest

I am lucky enough to live next door to a nearly four thousand acre forest preserve that has a large number of high bush blueberries.  They ripen sometime in July, usually late July.  Word had filtered down to me that the blueberries were in so I hit the forest this evening to check out my favorite bushes.  I came home with over a gallon (bigger container next time!) and ate at least a quart while I was picking.  I picked over the berries at home and froze four quarts bags after feeding the children several bowls of fresh berries each.  The frozen berries will be used for pancakes, to top cereal, for blueberry pies, etc, etc.  There will be plenty of picking over the next two weeks. With future pickings, I’ll make fresh pies and jars and jars of jam.   I’ll post pictures from tonight soon.  The forest is a quiet peaceful place full of rock formations, conifers and lakes that reminds me of Maine.

Leave a Reply

