New Poultry Census

This morning I counted the birds as I released methodically them from chicken house.  Usually I just fling the door open and them fly out from the roosts and stream out the door.  It always reminds me of the scene where twenty clowns come out of a little VW bug.  In any case, it appears I did not lose any chickens to red tail hawks this late fall/early winter.  I did lose the little white Silkie one night who climbed under the log pile where I couldn’t reach and was gone in the morning.  I also lost a speckled sussex pullet overnight in the chicken house last week.  She appeared traumatized and there was a broken roost that night that I think fell on her.

Leave a Reply

