Strangeness

Josephine screamed all morning in the bonding pen, ignoring her baby, wanting to be back with the herd.  I was reluctant to separate her from her baby without any bonding and felt it was too soon to put him, less than a day old, in with the herd.  Since I was mucking this afternoon, I couldn’t stand the noise and put them both out with my constant supervision.  Strangely, Josephine became protective of him and hovered close for the first time since his birth, anxiously sniffing to make sure he was hers.

I mentioned before I have a duck missing and have wondered if it is sitting on eggs somewhere.  Now a turkey hen is gone as well.  I guess we will see in a few weeks.  I have confined the rest of the turkeys so I can gather their eggs for incubation.

Leave a Reply

