Snowy day! Farinata Soup!

2012-12-27 12.27.07A heavy wet snow fell over night, about four inches altogether.  Dan ended up plowing for four hours with the tractor!  I shoveled out below at the farm house.  Cara shoveled out her cottage and above  at the hoop house and buck shed.  This didn’t take us very long.

While I waited for Dan to finish plowing, I puttered around the house, cleaning, putting things away, thinking, not thinking and spacing out, starting the fire and deciding I should cook something  with stick to your ribs warmth for Dan when he came back inside.  I knew he’d be cold from sitting on the tractor in the alternating snow and rain.

I adapted a farinata recipe from Margaret Roach, adding Italian sausage and using what I had in the fridge.  You can find her recipe here.

001

Ingredients

  • 1/2 lb Italian sausage
  • 4 cloves chopped garlic (I used Bialas Farms garlic, the best you can get)
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1/2 lb kale or cabbage or mix (I used Bialas Farms cabbage because I had it.  For a prettier soup with more contrasting color, kale would be better.  Bialas also has superb kale, I just didn’t have any today)
  • 6 cups broth (I used part chicken and part water because I had an open box of broth in the fridge equaling 4 cups so I added 2 cups water to that)
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 3/4 cup polenta (cornmeal) (I used Brooklyn Bean‘s killer polenta…yum!)
  • 1/2 cup grated hard cheese (I used some of my stash of 3 year old raw milk hard goat cheese that I had made before we were licensed)

Steps

Break up and cook the sausage well.  Scoop out with slotted spoon reserving the fat in the pan and set aside.  Add olive oil and saute garlic and greens until wilted.  Add broth and salt and cooked sausage and bring to a simmer until greens are tender.  Gradually stir in polenta and cook on simmer until creamy, about ten minutes.  Fold in grated cheese.  Serve immediately.

002

2 Responses to “Snowy day! Farinata Soup!”

  1. Kasha Says:

    I love putting polenta in soups to thicken them! Now I must get some sausage to go with the kale in the greenhouse 🙂

  2. Tammy Says:

    I have never thought to put polenta into a soup but that sounds terrific!

Leave a Reply

